Indonesia’s Religious Affairs Ministry has released translated versions of the Quran in three regional languages, namely Melayu Ambon, Balinese and Banjar.
Hits: 2209
Publish Date: 24 December 2017

The translations were made "for those who are more fluent in their regional dialects than in Indonesian,” Religious Affairs Minister Lukman Hakim Saifuddin said in Jakarta on Wednesday as quoted by Antara news agency.

Lukman said the translated Qurans would provide religious services, especially to Muslims who are not fluent in Indonesian, as well as maintain and preserve the archipelagic culture by strengthening regional languages, particularly those that face the threat of extinction.

This year, the ministry has launched up to 12 translations of the Quran, including in Sasak from West Nusa Tenggara (NTB), Kaili and Toraja from Central Sulawesi, Makassar from South Sulawesi, Bolaang Mongondow from North Sulawesi, Batak Angkola from North Sumatra, Minang from West Sumatra, Banyumasan from Central Java, Dayak from West Kalimantan, Ambon from Maluku, Banjar from South Kalimantan and in Balinese.


Source: The Jakarta Post

* Comment: